Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Women's and LGBTQ Resource Center

Christopher Jorgenson recently received the NASPA: Region IV- East Innovative Program Award for his coordination of the 2014 Fire Ball at UW-Eau Claire. The award reflects the top student affairs program in Iowa, Michigan, Ohio, Minnesota, Wisconsin and parts of Canada.

The Fire Ball is a drag show and fundraiser that raises funds for the UW-Eau Claire LGBTQA Student Support Fund, which provides scholarships to LGBTQ students and allies who wish to pursue social justice experiences, education and activism when they would otherwise be financially unable to do so.

The 2015 Fire Ball is scheduled for Feb. 27 and 28 at UW-Eau Claire (location to be determined).

Monday, November 17, 2014


Dr. Bob Nowlan presented an invited feature talk titled "'Touching from a Distance, Further All the Time' — Spiritual Reflections Concerning the Life and Work of Ian Curtis and the Music of Joy Division" Nov. 16 at the Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Eau Claire as the center of a special service with the same title as the talk.

Friday, November 14, 2014

Languages/English as a Second Language

UW-Eau Claire's English as a Second Language section hosted the Wisconsin Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (WITESOL) conference Nov. 1 in Davies Center. The conference theme was "Language and Learning: Finding Balance in the Digital Age." Three UW-Eau Claire ESL lecturers from the department of languages presented in two different sessions. Julie Adler, Linda Carlson and Ami Christensen presented "Creating a Digital Newspaper" and Ami Christensen presented "Storyboards and Student-Generated Videos."


Max Garland, professor of English and Wisconsin's poet laureate, will be featured during the Nov. 20 "Writers Read" event at the L.E. Phillips Memorial Public Library in downtown Eau Claire. The event begins at 7 p.m. in the Eau Claire Room on the library's lower level.
In addition to reading selections of new and previous work, Garland will reflect on his time as poet laureate and the nearly 20,000 miles traveled across the state talking about poetry and creativity.

A first-generation college student, Garland left a 10-year career as a mail carrier to pursue his love of poetry. He earned a master of fine arts degree in creative writing from the University of Iowa in 1989 and has been teaching since 1990.

The event is free and open to the public. For more information, contact the library at 715-839-5004 or librarian@eauclaire.lib.wi.us.

Monday, November 10, 2014

Accounting and Finance

Congratulations to Tom Mihajlov, who recently received the 40-year Legion of Honor Award from Kiwanis International.


Four UW-Eau Claire faculty members from the department of languages and two students presented in three different sessions at the 2014 Wisconsin Association for Language Teachers Conference Nov. 6-8 in Appleton. Dr. Anne Hlas, Sarah Molitor and student Krista Neyers presented "Increasing Attention in the World Language Classroom"; Dr. Josh Brown and student Lara Steinike presented "Targeting Higher Level Proficiencies in L2 Writing"; and Dr. Martina Lindseth and Dr. Josh Brown presented "Engaging with the Host Culture During Study Abroad."

Music and Theatre Arts

Dr. Dale Taylor (emeritus) was the convocation speaker Oct. 8 at Carroll University in Waukesha. He presented "Music Therapy: Effective, Scientific, Reimbursable" to an audience of students, faculty, administrators and area health professionals.

Sunday, November 9, 2014

Center for International Education

Jodi B. Simek was selected for and successfully completed the prestigious Baden-Wurttemberg Seminar 2014 hosted by Universitat Heidelberg. Seminar attendees learned about the German educational system, history of universities, secondary and university education in Germany, and current changes and developments in German higher education, with site visits in secondary schools and universities. The seminar was organized with the financial support of the Ministry of Science, Research and the Arts, Baden-Wurttemberg. Simek also was awarded an ORSP staff professional development grant to help defray transportation costs to and from the seminar.

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Faculty, staff honored by Services for Students with Disabilities office

James Franklin (left) and Phillip Ostrander
The Services for Students with Disabilities office at UW-Eau Claire recently honored a faculty and staff member for their service to students with disabilities.

Dr. Phillip Ostrander, music and theatre arts, and James Franklin, Facilities Management, were recognized at the Services for Students with Disabilities Faculty and Staff Recognition event Oct. 14. Each year students with disabilities are invited to nominate a university employee who has demonstrated an outstanding commitment to meeting their disability-related needs.

UW-Eau Claire student Peter Winslow nominated Ostrander.

"As my professor of trombone, Dr. Ostrander has gone out of his way to help ensure that all buildings and stages are wheelchair accessible," Winslow said. "Without his persistence and thoughtfulness I would not have been able to participate in band tours, such as the International Trombone Festival in Rochester, New York, this past summer. I could not think of anyone more deserving to be recognized for his outstanding work with students."

UW-Eau Claire student David Stokes nominated Franklin.

"Mr. Franklin has worked hard to ensure proper access for students with disabilities on our campus," Stokes said. "In addition to his duties as heating plant superintendent, he works as a construction liaison overseeing new projects, including the new Davies Center, Centennial Hall as well as construction on Zorn Arena, Schofield Hall and Horan Hall. He changed the location of a steam pit to allow for a handicapped-accessible ramp for Horan Hall."

Vicky Thomas, director of Services for Students with Disabilities, said she was pleased that Ostrander and Franklin had been honored.

"The music and theatre arts department and Facilities Management both work diligently to ensure accessibility to campus programs for our students," Thomas said.

Monday, October 27, 2014


Dr. Dominique Thévenin (emerita) had her book review of "La baie vitrée" by Sébastien Brébel published in The French Review, Vol. 88, No. 1, in October 2014.